Creating Child Pages using WordPress iOS app

No app ever works the same as the desktop version of anything. This is just as true for WordPress as it is most most other online services that can be utilized, to a greater or lesser extent, from mobile devices. Sometimes I wonder if that difference, not in functionality but just in how this are done, isn’t the source for many of the complaints people have about the version they are less familiar with. The truth is, I’ve figured out how to do just about everything I can do from my desktop and browser using my iPhone or iPad. I just can’t do it in the same way.

For instance: I’m building an RPWiki on a self-hosted WordPress blog. I’m using Pages, rather than Posts because the content won’t change much and should be reasonably static once it’s created. My top level (parent) Pages are the letters of the English alphabet (plus one from terms that begin with symbols or numerals rather than letters). Each Letter Page has one or more Pages associated with it for each term being defined. Some of the Term Pages even have sub-pages!

Creating subpages in my desktop browser is simple. From my Dashboard, I select Add a New Page. When the New Page screen displays, there’s a drop-down menu where I can select the Parent Page in the Page Attribute Widget in the sidebar column on the right-hand side of the screen. When I Save the draft or Publish the Page the association with the parent Page is also saved. Easy.

Creating subpages using the WordPress app for iOS isn’t really harder, it just takes a few more steps. You begin the same way, be creating a New Page but before you Publish the Page, you need to save it as a Draft or Pending Review (you can do this using the Settings options). Once your Page has been saved, go to your dashboard and select Pages (I normally do this from the Right Now widget on the dashboard home page). The master list of all the Pages you have created for that blog are displayed. Select Quick Edit for the Page you want to make into a subpage. The quick edit options are displayed allowing you to select the appropriate Parent Page from the drop down list. Once the Parent page is selected, tapping Update will save the change thus making the Page you are editing a Child Page. You can also Publish the new subpage at the time by changing the Status from Draft to Published before tapping the Update button. That’s all there is to it.

Now admit it, that wasn’t so tough. Sure, it would be nice not to have to go through the extra steps. Then again, having to take those extra steps and slowing down my process has kept me from making some embarrassing faux pas. Is it a perfect solution? Not if your definition of perfect is “works exactly like the browser version on my desktop”. But you CAN do it. And now you know how.

Leave a Reply

